Schubert & Mendelssohn

Saturday, February 24, 2018 at 7:00PM

NCPA Jamshed Bhabha Theatre

Symphony Orchestra of India
Schubert: Symphony No. 8 “Unfinished”
Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto No. 1
Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4 “Italian”
This immensely popular concert of symphonic favourites is due in large part to the way in which both Franz Schubert and Felix Mendelssohn can wend a tune. So sure-footed is their discovery of beauty, as notes hover and move forward connecting to each other like pearls on a necklace, that musicians and listeners alike are held in a trance by the exquisite nature of this music. The ‘unfinished’ symphony delicately coaxes sound from strings and solo woodwinds alike that remind us of Schubert’s supreme gifts as a songwriter. The Mendelssohn Piano Concerto is a fine vehicle for dynamic pianism, and the “Italian” symphony is a brilliant, taut, yet delightfully tuneful celebration of the ‘joy in life’. Here’s how Mendelssohn describes it after arriving in Italy. 
“This is Italy! And now has begun what I have always thought... to be the supreme joy in life. And I am loving it.”
“It will be the jolliest piece I have ever done”
Don’t miss this concert for an evocation of happiness and a toe-tapping, tune-humming send-off.  

The concert will run for approximately 140 minutes including one intermission. 

Box office now open. 

Tickets: Rs. 1600, Rs. 1280, Rs. 960, Rs. 640 & Rs. 320/- (plus GST)

SEASON DISCOUNT: For the Spring 2018 season of the Symphony Orchestra of India, we are offering patrons who purchase tickets for three concerts in the season a 10% discount and four or more concerts a 15% discount on their purchase.  For terms & conditions, read here

STUDENT DISCOUNT: 50% discount on purchase of tickets for students with valid student ID. Use Promo Code: soifeb18 to purchase tickets on For terms & conditions, read here